I Quit

This week, I quit my job.

I’m going to stay at home with the kids.  I’ve been a mom for almost 11 years now, but I’ve never done it full-time.  I’ve always worked.  I’ve had a successful career.  I’ve made a lot of money.  I got promoted.  And promoted again.  I supervised a lot of people.   And this week, I walked away from it all.

So this week, I start my new career as a full-time mother.  The difference is, I was trained to do my previous job.  I went to graduate school, read lots of books, did lots of research, read the journals, and kept up with the technology.  But there is no graduate program in what I’m about to do.  There are books, websites, and, of course, blogs, but they all contain contradicting information.

So here’s my plan.

I’m going to take the next year to focus on becoming a better mom.  I don’t know what that means yet, but I know there are some basics.  I want to find a way to deal effectively with my household chores so I’m not the mom who is constantly engaged in drudgery.  I want to focus on our family’s finances so that the sting of losing my income isn’t quite so painful.  I want to find ways to engage with my children in ways that are meaningful, not just necessary.  In general, I want to find ways to apply the lessons I learned in the workforce to my own household.

Join me as I chronicle what I learn.

2 responses

  1. This is exactly what i am struggling with–to quit or not to quit…leaning towards quitting for the exact same reason(s). So I’ll be watching you closely my friend 🙂

  2. Blessings and good luck. Being home is such a gift, even on the days that it doesn’t feel like it. I have managed to work part time for most of my daughter’s life and have been grateful for the opportunity, even now when she would rather that I was not quite so available 🙂 (life with a teen, of course) Best advice – nap when they nap!

Leave a Reply

