Alphabet Activity with Edible Play Doh

Pinterest is making me do things I wouldn’t have done before.  Yesterday I wanted to continue working on our Letter A activities by using play doh to make letters.  However, one of the challenges of any of these alphabet activities is that I always have a toddler underfoot.  Last time we used Play Doh, I was constantly grabbing her hand and sticking my finger into her slimy mouth to scoop out the last fistful that she’d shoved in.  So yesterday, I made edible Play Doh…just in case.

So, here’s the recipe I used:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 3 tsp Cream of Tartar (can someone please explain what properties this contains, as it is in all Play Doh recipes?)
  • 1 packet of Kool-Aid or Jello (we’ll come back to this)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon cooking oil (I used Canola, but I think you could use whatever’s handy)

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a medium saucepan.  Mix the oil and water (really?) and add slowly while stirring.  Keep stirring over medium heat until it starts to thicken to the appropriate consistency.  Remove from heat and when cool enough, knead well.

I started with the Kool Aid.  Very kool, indeed.  I was fired up.  The color was beautiful and it smelled delicious (I used tropical punch).

Inspired by my success, I decided to try one with Jello.  Immediately, I had a bad feeling about this one.  It looked like slimy chicken and was the color of human flesh.  It was grape, so I was expecting purple.  Not even close.

This is what it looked like when I took it out.  Notice the slimy texture.

But after a while of kneading, it actually did turn into a pretty nice consistency.  Just an ugly color.  The weird thing is that smelled just like grape Hubba Bubba gum.  It plays tricks on your mind when something looks like this and smells like grape.  I thought I might be having a stroke.

I figured no one would want this one, but leave it to Eleanor to find some creative ways to use brownish-grayish Play Doh.  A bird and a volcano.

And, as for the alphabet…Ayub had minimal patience for that activity before he moved on to other more fun things.  But, breakthrough at dinner…he was able to tell us that A says “aaaa.”  Good enough.

2 responses

    • Yes, we love Letter Factory and Word Factory. Not sure how much is absorbed, but he watches them all the way through. It’s no Shaun the Sheep, but…

Leave a Reply

