Update on Summer Goals

At the beginning of the summer, I joked to Andrew that I had two goals for the summer:  to win the lottery and to lose weight without diet or exercise.  Ha!  Well, the world is a funny place…

A few weeks ago, I got the Powerball number.  No other numbers, but I matched the Powerball.  That pays out, my friends.  (Yes, you are going to be jealous when you read this next part.)  I WON $4!!!!!  I guess that in all my years of teaching goal setting, I should have know that when you set a goal, you have to be SPECIFIC.  But, nonetheless, let’s cross that one off my list.

Then, a few weeks ago, I got a stomach bug.  (You can see this coming, right?)  I LOST 4 POUNDS!  One more off my list!

Actually, my real goal at the beginning of the summer was just to make it through.  After all, this was my first summer being at home and my first summer with four kids – it was a little daunting.  But now the kids are back in school (well at least 3/4 of them) and it’s a little quiet and lonely around here.  Therefore, I’ve set some new goals for myself:

  • Find some fun ways to help supplement what Ayub is learning in school.
  • Find ways to manage our household so that I’m not constantly stuck doing chores.
  • Carve out more time for photography (including some online classes I’ve had lined up).
  • Manage the family budget so that I can continue to stay home (as my lottery winnings are already gone).

I’ll post more on all of these as I make progress, but if you have any suggestions, leave them in the comments!  In the meantime, I’ll be playing more Powerball.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

