One Year Ago Today

One year ago today, we met our kids.

Always smiling.

Always smiling.

Our first meeting...he kissed my hand.

Our first meeting…he kissed my hand.

I went back and reread my blog post from that day.  Some of our first impressions were spot on, like how Ayub was “…sweet and mischievous at the same time.”  But some of our thoughts turned out to be dead wrong, such as how Ayub had a “quiet, soft voice.”  HA!  He’s the loudest kid EVER.  Andrew just bought a decibel counter so we could literally measure how loud he is.  And we were right…he’s LOUD.  But what strikes me is how far he’s come in the past year.  It’s been amazing to witness how much he’s changed.

The little guy was exhausted after our first day together.  And I've been exhausted every day since.

The little guy was exhausted after our first day together. And I’ve been exhausted every day since.

5 responses

  1. It’s amazing how much they change on a weekly basis – never mind a year! I am blown away how much my kids have changed in the past 2 months. Congratulations on a wonderful first year together!

  2. What a wonderful and fulfilling year you have had! I am totally in awe of you and Andrew and how you have handled this challenge. I’m sure there is much more to the story that we never hear, but you are doing a great job of integrating your bio and adopted kids into a stable “Watkins family”.

Leave a Reply

