Help Me Make Friends

Before I move on, let me share my thoughts about internet relationships.  I used to laugh.  Really, I did.  I just didn’t see how you could be friends with someone you’d never met in real life and didn’t ever see.  But adopting two kids, one of them an older child, has definitely taught me a thing or two.  You see, as great as “real friends” are, this is really one of those “you had to be there” kind of things.  If you haven’t completed the endless amounts of paperwork (in some cases twice) and then waited for a referral, then you just can’t understand the pressure and stress that causes.  Then, if you haven’t had your life turned upside down by little creatures that you are supposed to love from day one, then you just can’t fathom how hard that is.  Sometimes, you need to be able to reach out to friends who can understand.  Friends to whom you can share you deepest fears (I think my kid is a serial killer) and desperate thoughts (what if we’ve made a terrible mistake)*.  You also need someone you can bounce things off, like the fact that your five-year-old child refuses to tell you ANYTHING about his life before he joined your family.  Is that normal?  Does he need therapy?  Is it too soon?  Or has he split into multiple personalities to shield himself from the pain?  So, yes, I love my real friends.  I especially love the ones who I can sit down and have a drink with, because you know I DEFINITELY need that, but my blog friends have started to play an increasingly important role in my life, too.

In an effort to connect with a wider blog audience, I’ve joined Top Mommy Blogs.  It would help me immensely if you would click on the link below and “vote” for me.  It only takes a second.  You will be taken to the site, and then you can come right back.  That’s all there is to it.  This will help drive more visitors to my site and help me make more wonderful blog friends.  There is also a link on the right sidebar, so any time you drop by and want to vote, please take a second to help me out.  Thanks to all my “real” and “blog” friends.

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

*Upon consultation with my blog friends, I have decided that my son is not a serial killer and we have NOT made a huge mistake.  Just FYI.

 

5 responses

  1. I’m trying to vote for you, but I can’t figure out what I’m supposed to do! When I click that link, it takes me to a page full of blogs that aren’t yours. Help?

  2. 🙂 I’m so glad you joined TMB, that’s how I found you! Bloggy friends are the very best! I talk computers with the fam and they are ready to hide. My bloggy buds put up with me cat pictures, silly requests, typos and all without trying to run away. 🙂 I don’t see any social media buttons to stalk you with… if you get a sec, pop over to me and link up through one of mine so I can pimp you out to my bloggy crew. 🙂

Leave a Reply

