Monster Fun

Andrew and I have always loved helping our kids enjoy the things they are naturally drawn to.  When Sam was little, he went through a typical dinosaur phase, and we got him dinosaur books, pajamas, toys, and more books.  Eleanor likes the ballet, so Andrew takes her to see several each year.  And, of course, Sam has developed our love for baseball, so we catch as many games as we can (for him, of course).

This brings us to Ayub.  Ayub is into trucks and anything loud.  So this weekend, I became Mother of the Year by taking him to Monster Jam.

photo-2

For those who have never been (a category to which I belonged until Friday night), this is an actual sport.  Monster trucks drive over regular cars and smash them down, then judges give them points based on I-don’t-know-what, and there is a winner.  To add some drama, they throw in some conflict where one driver threatens another (think professional wrestling…with acting that’s just as bad).

Ayub loved every minute of it.  Of course, he couldn’t really figure out what was going on sometimes, barraging me with a series of unanswerable “why” questions.  Why they drive on top of those cars?  Why he mad?  Why he win?  After answering “I don’t know” or making up my own fun answers for the first half, after intermission I told him to just watch because I couldn’t hear him with my earplugs in.

Then, on Saturday, my reign as MOTY continued with a trip to Lowe’s.  They have a kids’ clinic every Saturday where the kids get to make something.  Guess what the project was this week?  Monster trucks.  No kidding.  It was the theme for the weekend.  Ayub had a great time.  I mean, really, how often do we tell him to hit something with a hammer?  And then tell him to hit it harder?  He was in heaven!

DSC_2265

DSC_2278

DSC_2282

 

And in other news for the Mother Of The Year Selection Committee, Sam got to see two and a half baseball games, Eleanor had a night out with a friend and a playdate at our house, and Sam attended a sleepover birthday party.  If kids could be any happier, I’m not sure how.

And, in case I don’t win MOTY, but you still want me to do well at something, please click the link below to vote for my blog.  All you have to do is click once, then you can come right back here.  Or wherever it is you go when you’re not reading my blog.

 Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

