What I Know About Runners

DSC_0096 Some of you may remember my brief running career.  While waiting for our kids to come home, I trained for and ran a half marathon with my husband.  He’s the runner in our family and has done several marathons and triathlons.  While I was losing my mind with waiting for a referral, I decided it would be a good idea for us to do a race together.  So we did.  It was my only race.  It turns out I hate running.  It’s a lot of work for me, and I don’t get a lot of fun out of it.  But, in my brief stint as a runner, here are some things I learned about runners:

  1. They are determined.  They run when it’s raining, when it’s snowing, when it’s uncomfortable, when it’s inconvenient.  Nothing stops them.
  2. Their minds are as strong as their bodies.  They study.  They eat the right things – carbs before runs and proteins while training.  They calculate everything…miles, speed, incline.  They time things.  They set goals.  They push themselves.
  3. They are a team.  Even though running is an individual sport, I’ve never seen more teamwork.  People genuinely want to help others do better.  When you see a marathon, there are always stories of someone helping someone else out.  When runners see others runners struggling, they shout words of encouragement.  I can’t tell you how many people along the half marathon route told me to keep going, not to give up.  (Yes, they could see I was about to die.)  And I can’t tell you what that does to you as a participant.  It’s like a jolt of energy right when you need it.

Knowing these things, I was incredibly saddened to hear what happened in Boston.  First elementary school kids.  Now marathon runners.  Who’s next?  Nursing homes?  Nuns? I better not have to see that Mr. Rogers quote again any time soon.  I don’t want to tell my kids to look for the helpers.  I want to tell them that they are safe. Boston, we’re thinking of you.  We are all your team now, and we’ll shout words of encouragement as you run past.

5 responses

  1. I just can’t get over this. I live outside Boston. The little 8 year old boy who was killed looks like any one of my 3rd grader’s friends, rooting for their favorite sports team. It’s sickening and I’m with you, I love helpers, but I don’t want to need them.

Leave a Reply

